Yoga Witness


During yoga practice my mind frets over how I look doing yoga, even with no one else around, and to berate me for “looking ridiculous in the poses” – telling me yoga is for “skinny” people.

But then, wandering through a thrift store, I saw her sitting on a shelf surrounded by craft projects gone wrong and kitchen spoons. With that crooked smile she invited me to see her, to truly see her and I found a reflection of myself- my heart opened, my mind hushed. Now she’s home with me ready to be a witness to my yoga practice, to remind me that I am beautiful just as I am. So are you!

In the movement of yoga my mind and spirit begin to open – just a bit at a time. And it helps so much to have the support of a kind and compassionate teacher showing the way. Without yoga I might have missed her smile.


This entry was posted in 30 Days Yoga, Connection. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Yoga Witness

  1. rachel awes says:

    what a find! i love her too!
    big love to you just as you are ~
    xoxox

  2. Linda-Sama says:

    love this! and I want it!

  3. heatherplett says:

    She IS beautiful! I think I need one just like her sitting on my shelf!

  4. tiajulianna says:

    She is perfect!! I love, love, love her!

  5. Rebekah says:

    I love her, and what she represents for you. Hope you enjoy your practice! 🙂

  6. judyvastine says:

    I. Love. This! Thanks for sharing her.

  7. she is wonderful – glad you found her!

  8. Abby says:

    I love her smile and pose too. ❤

  9. thanks for stopping by my blog today 🙂 i do not know why you know what the invisible disabilities badge is for – but that you know it … well, {{{hugs}}}

    i wish there was a ‘follower’ button on your blog… 😦

  10. Renee says:

    I love this! Beautiful post. Yoga is for everyone! xo

  11. BEautiful!! I’ve got a tin (for teabags) in my kitchen that might be your gal’s daughter (she’s in a bathing suit, not quite ready for nakedness – but close) and she’s beautiful, too! Beauty is sure not one size, color or (apparently) even one particular material (your gal’s stone, mine’s tin) – beauty just IS!

    Thanks for this post!!

  12. Jen Saunders says:

    I love, love, love this! Yes!!!

    I firmly believe that yoga helps us accept our true selves. And acceptance heals. It frees us to truly live.

    thanks!

  13. I too have berated myself while practising yoga and there are times that I have felt like I just didn’t look good enough to do yoga, as if how I look is the marker of my body’s physical abilities. I am learning that my spirit is good enough to do whatever it needs to do to express it’s deep level of passion for life.

    Thans for sharing!

    Andrea

Leave a Reply

