A Solstice Anniversary

Pelican Point

We hold the turning wheel of nature’s phases as sacred and observe the quarters and solstices with special dinners, little shrines, cultural and spiritual practices. After being to gether for 8 years, the Summer Solstice of 2003 didn’t seem any different from any other. The day before, I bought sun flowers for a shrine decorated with acorns, a basket of fresh strawberries for after dinner, and a yellow candle rubbed with lemon oil. When P. asked if we could go to Pelican Point (a beach park preserve) on Solstice morning it didn’t seem unusual.

Just after sunrise we arrived at the park; a dew wet morning with the smell of the ocean mixing with sage. We walked the paths above the ocean and then made our way down to the beach. When he took me by the arm and sat me down on a rock just out of reach of breaking waves I felt confused. When he took a few steps back facing me with such a serious look I braced myself for bad news. But then his face softened as he reached into his coat pocket and pulled out a folded piece of paper. Unfolding it, he met my eyes with so much love and began to read this to me:

Yes. I cried big gushy tears. He did too. We sat for a long time on the rock together, holding hands, watching the waves and the seagulls that sidestepped toward us to see if we had anything good to eat before they took off to catch an air current over the water.

With my health scare, we hadn’t planned much for Solstice this year. We decided to celebrate the anniversary of his proposal and my new adventures in food. After a little research we found several vegan or vegetarian eateries and picked Native Foods Cafe for lunch that day. It’s mostly organic, all natural, 100% plant-based, homemade seitan and tempeh dishes. We loved it!

Since seeing this at Kari June Young’s blog, I was craving a vegan burger. We ended up with the best tempeh burgers I’ve ever had. Wait. I’ve never had a tempeh burger. Well. Still. GOOD tempeh burgers. I ordered a tasty cup of potato soup with mine and P. had sweet potato oven fries. Oh. My. God. A couple of his fries found their way to my plate and they were the best sweet potato …. ok, never had sweet potato fries either. But the next time I go there those damn things will be my whole dinner.

Vegan food rocks! I’ve also found great vegan and vegetarian recipes online to do my own experimenting. (oh, and anyone have suggestions on how to get the best shots of food in restaurants?)

Right now my sweet man is in the kitchen making us a salad, the cats chase each other around the dining room table. I write, feel the rhythm of my breath, linger on the thought of summer full of play, rest and kindness (Dream Lab with Mondo Beyondo!). I’ll get ready for yoga, a hot shower and then sink into sleep.

This entry was posted in Food, General, Health and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A Solstice Anniversary

  1. Jeannie says:

    Wish I could visit this place…we are in a place where vegetarian out means cheese pizza, grilled cheese, cheese and bean tacos….you get the picture. Vegan here? That means french fries…and not the yummy sweet potato ones you mentioned! Needless to say, we eat in a great deal.

    I’ll look forward to your email.

    Happy, Happy Anniversary! Hope this is just the start of many happy years together.
    Jeannie

  2. Mo says:

    Oh that is SO romantic!

    And that vegan food looks AMAZING! Where are you based? Even in Brighton there are not that many VEGAN restaurants. Though the vegetarian ones are really quite something special.

    • K says:

      We are in Southern California – but in the O.C. area where we live there’s not always what you might expect to find in Los Angeles. So we are very pleased to find a vegan cafe.

  3. amandacoolidge says:

    yup i adore the note πŸ™‚ love that you have saved it and scanned it!

    got any pics of your art journaling you mentioned on my blog? would love to see what you are creating or what you did create!

    • K says:

      I’m trying to figure out how to get the best scans, mine come out so badly. We are in the market for a new printer scanner.

  4. rachel awes says:

    thank you
    for sharing
    your dearest
    love note
    in your
    staying life
    with paul…
    lifetime love
    & good food
    are certainly
    amazing gifts
    from our
    deep vast
    beautiful sea!x

  5. tiajulianna says:

    Oh totally cried with that one! I’ve been married but never proposed to (long story); I’m in love and Officially Wondering if it will ever happen.
    And the FOOD. Oh my. Hungry now!

Leave a Reply

